Cabinet Report Cards 2014: We think it's time we called in your parents

The M&G Cabinet report card has become a respected barometer of government performance. Thank you to our readers for rating our ministers. Published below are the scores that are the most accurate, which also appear in the M&G end of year edition for 2014.


It's President Jacob Zuma's last term as South Africa president and a chance to learn from the mistakes of his first five years as head of government. In particular it's an opportunity to salvage his legacy, but so far the signs are far from encouraging. 

Our annual report card once again shows few stars in a sea of mediocrity and even incompetence, at a time when South Africans need inspirational leadership, vision and verve. 

Some Cabinet ministers have only been in the job for seven months and may yet prove themselves, but with a local government election in 2016 and an ANC succession battle ahead of 2017, it may well be that the affairs of state will come second to personal ambition and the vagaries of the governing party's dynamics.

Report cards compiled by

Andisiwe Makinana

Angela Quintal

Chantelle Benjamin
Craig McKune

David Macfarlane
Glynnis Underhill 

Kevin Davie
Kwanele Sosibo
Lisa Steyn
Lynley Donnelly 

Manqoba Nxumalo
Matuma Letsoalo
Mia Malan
Mmanaledi Mataboge
Phillip de Wet

Rapule Tabane
Sally Evans
Sam Sole

Sarah Wild

Sipho Kings

Tabelo Timse
Thalia Holmes

Verashni Pillay

Jacob Zuma


Cyril Ramaphosa

Deputy President

Jeff Radebe

Minister of the Presidency

Aaron Motsoaledi

Minister of Health

Angie Motshekga

Minister of Basic Education

Bathabile Dlamini

Minister of Social Development

Blade Nzimande

Minister of Higher Education and Training

Collins Chabane

Minister of Public Service and Administration

David Mahlobo

Minister of State Security

Derek Hanekom

Minister of Tourism

Dipuo Peters

Minister of Transport

Ebrahim Patel

Minister of Economic Development

Edna Molewa

Minister of Environmental Affairs

Faith Muthambi

Minister of Communications

Fikile Mbalula

Minister of Sport and Recreation

Gugile Nkwinti

Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform

Lindiwe Sisulu

Minister of Human Settlements

Lindiwe Zulu

Minister of Small Business and Development

Lynne Brown

Minister of Public Enterprises

Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Minister of International Relations

Malusi Gigaba

Minister of Home Affairs

Mike Masutha

Minister of Justice and Correctional Services

Mildred Oliphant

Minister of Labour

Naledi Pandor

Minister of Science and Technology

Nathi Mthethwa

Minister of Arts and Culture

Ngoako Ramatlhodi

Minister of Mineral Resources

Nhlanhla Nene

Minister of Finance

Nkosinathi Nhleko

Minister of Police

Nomvula Mokonyane

Minister of Water and Sanitation

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula

Minister of ‚ÄčDefence and Military Veterans

Pravin Gordhan

Minister of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Rob Davies

Minister of Trade and Industry

Senzeni Zokwana

Minister of ‚ÄčAgriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Siyabonga Cwele

Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services

Susan Shabangu

Minister of Women in the Presidency

Thulas Nxesi

Minister of Public Works

Tina Joemat-Pettersson

Minister of Energy